Turkey, so much good

This Thanksgiving we smoked a 20# turkey, ate a bit off the top for dinner and then I go to work putting the rest of it to good use. Normally I pack away all the meat that is somewhat easy to remove for sandwiches and such over the next few days, and then grab out my big ol’ cast iron cauldron/stock pot and put all the bones in, cover with water, add in 1/2 cup of raw unfiltered apple cider vinegar and let it simmer for 12 to 24 hours to make a real good stock for turkey noodle soup & turkey stew. This one bird will feed us another 5 or 6 times. 🙂

Smoked Turkey

I can’t wait till we are smoking our own home raised turkeys to feast on during the holidays, that is the plan for next year. So for this turkey I rubbed the outside of the turkey with olive oil, sage and thyme, then injected garlic-turmeric infused butter into the meat whenever we’d go out to baste it. Turned out amazing, super juicy, tender and smoked to perfection.

Turkey Stock

This picture was taken right after I picked the carcass clean of the choice meat. The remaining meat and bones when in here, including the neck, gizzard, liver and heart.

 

After picking all the choice meat off the bones I put all that was left in my cast iron stock pot, covered with water, added in 1/2 cup ACV and will let it simmer for 12 to 24 hours. I am amazed at how using the bones in this way makes the best soup stock I’ve ever had, and how since we have moved out here all 6 of us have been enjoying vibrant health. None of us has been sick at all, and that is saying something. When we lived in Oregon, before I learned to do the many nourishing traditions I have learned during this time, we’d have colds, flu and all kinds of bugs sweep through our family several times per year. Now, nada.

 

Leave a Reply

