From Scratch Pumpkin Pie

Yesterday our friend called us and offered to give us a whole trailer load of pumpkins, some were too far gone for eating making great compost and chicken supplements, but a few of them were worthy of using to make my first from scratch pumpkin pie. I plan to finish the pies today and put them in the freezer and save them for thanksgiving. So now I will share my recipes for the pumpkin pie filling and also the pie crust, which is the same pie crust recipe I used for the apple pies I made before. (https://earthenstewards.wordpress.com/2014/10/17/apple-pie/)

Pie Filling:

First I found a succulent ripe pumpkin, it was about 10″ diameter, and looked a lot like a jack-o-lantern variety, only much smaller. I washed the outside of it, broke off the stem, and then cut the pumpkin in half. Scooped out the seeds and stringy guts in the center. Then I put the seeds aside to wash and save to plant next Spring. I then cut the halves into smaller chunks and arranged them in my cast iron dutch oven, and put it in my preheated 300ºF oven, and let it cook for around 40 minutes or more. When I smelled that rich sweet aroma of pumpkin cooking I opened up the oven and dutch oven and started poking around with my fork. The flesh was super soft so I pulled it out and let it cool on the counter. Later when cooled enough to touch, I separated the pumpkin meat from the skin. I noticed that the pulp/meat was very juicy, so I decided to strain the mush overnight. The next morning I put the mush back in a mixing bowl, and blended using my little hand blender. I gathered the following ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar (I used raw sugar, as I like the big brown crystals)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 cups pumpkin puree
  • 2 cups of whipping cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a separate bowl I added the ingredients listed above and mixed well. Then I set mixture aside, preheated the oven to 425ºF and began on the pie crusts.

Pie Crust:

Gather together-

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup tallow/lard
  • 12 tablespoons butter, cold and cubed
  • 1/4 to 3/4 cups of ice cold water

In a large mixing bowl mix together salt and sugar. Add lard/tallow and break it up with a pastry cutter as you start to coat it all up with flour 1 cup at a time till it gets crumbly, then add the rest of the flour. Add in the cubed cold butter and work it into the flour with hands or pastry cutter. Work quickly before butter softens, work it till it’s crumbly. Add ice water a 1/4 cup at a time mixing until dough forms, work into a ball. When it comes together stop working the dough or it will get tough. Divide dough in half and flatten it slightly to form a disk. Wrap each disk in plastic wrap or wax paper and refrigerate for 30 minutes. On a floured surface roll each disk out into a circle about 1/4 to 1/2″ thick,  1o to 11″ wide to make a 9″ pie. I used my round cake pans to bake these in, as I don’t have pie dishes yet.

 

I put the crust in the pan, made sure it was gently stretched/pressed into the corners and then added the filling to 2/3 full. Then I trimmed off the excess crust around the edges, and put them in the oven. I baked the pies for 15 minutes at 425ºF before lowering the oven temperature to 300ºF for the remaining 40-60 minutes. You want to cook the pies till a toothpick or butter knife comes out practically clean.

 

Now I plan to let the pies cool, and freeze them till Thanksgiving. Done!

 

Rampage of Gratitude to kick off the holidays ❤

I am giving my thanks to the most beloved people in my life through cooking us up a feast this Thanksgiving, so we can share good grub and make memories together this holiday season.

I’m thankful for my desire and inspiration of keeping my family healthy, and my growing knowledge of yummies I am able to make for them.

I’m thankful for how I find myself creating delicious health art in the kitchen for us/them to nourish with and enjoy!

Even the treats I make with trusted ingredients from scratch, which gives me a satisfaction that is indescribably alluring to keep me at it each day.

It is my pleasure to accomplish new nourishing baking skills and learn through trial and error each day.

I love that we are the kind of family where my kids are growing up on a 99% from-scratch-diet, where my children see and help their mama prepare and make daily nourishing traditions for them.

I’m thankful to be learning and sharing these traditional skills that my children can someday hand down to their own children and grandchildren that will enrich all our lives with vibrant health for generations to come.

Leave a Reply

