Fodder: Making the most out of our grains

Fodder

I have been reading a lot about Fodder, and the benefits of sprouting grains for feeding animals. Some of them being sprouting makes more nutrients, enzymes and vitamins bio-available, it increases protein, fiber and lots of goodness within the grain that are inhibited by anti-nutrients prior to being sprouted,  improving digestion and immunity. Then there is the fact that you can turn 1 lbs of grains into 4 lbs of feed by sprouting for 7-10 days saving costs on feed. All great reasons to grow fodder for my herd. Last winter I sprouted some wheat seeds for our pet rabbit, Brownee.

Fodder 2013

 

I didn’t know what I was doing last winter, as you can see I put some potting soil in some container lids to sprout the grains, and then cut the grass every day or so. All spring, summer and fall the kids and I would go out foraging for her, picking her plantains, grasses, and other herbs from the forest and off the side of our small country road. I had been sprouting these wheat berries for the kids, they love them, and once or twice I let them go a day or so too long and the sprouts became grass and so slightly less sweet and more bitter, I thought “hey I could give those to the rabbit for some homemade forage treats”. She loved them, I kept them going for a few weeks, just trimming them every couple days and giving her the grass. Until the grass started showing signs of not doing well, then I just gave her the dishes and let her tear them apart. Now that we have a whole herd of rabbits (30+ in our herd) and I have read a few things about fodder I plan to have this as an ongoing thing for my herd.

Leave a Reply

