Homemade Barbeque Sauce

BBQ Sauce My base recipe comes from here: www.simplyscratch.com/2011/09/homemade-barbecue-sauce-part-1.html

I made a few modifications, it turned out delish, but still needs some fine tuning. Here is my recipe.

Ingredients:

1-1/2 cups Dark Brown Sugar, packed {this step is crucial so the vinegar is balanced}

1-1/4 cups Organic Ketchup

1/2 cup Red Wine Vinegar

1/4 cup warm Water

1 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce

2-1/2 teaspoons Ground Mustard

2 teaspoons Chilli Powder

1 teaspoon Garlic Powder

1-1/2 teaspoons Real Sea Salt

1 teaspoon Black Pepper

Directions:

I put the packed dark brown sugar into a large bowl, then added the warm water and whisked it till the sugar was dissolved. Then I added in the ketchup, and the rest of the ingredients and kept whisking it till it was smooth and looked right. It tastes amazing, but I plan to continue to experiment and tweak the flavor.

This was a quick make, and I had everything I needed for it in my kitchen or food storage. It made about 3-4 cups, we used this batch on some sliced pork roast and steaks sliced thin, then smoked it. Turned out delicious! Plus I know everything that went into it, and it has zero high fructose corn syrup! Can’t wait to make more.

 

Leave a Reply

