Real Raspberry Vinegar :) YUM

.:July 11, 2012:.

 

Just put together the fixins for real Raspberry Vinegar.

1 quart jar
Couple handfuls of freshly picked Raspberries

in another bowl, mix 1/4 cup sugar into 3+ cups water, dissolve then pour sugar water into jar over the berries. Cover and let sit. When liquid becomes darker after about a week, strain out the berries and allow to sit for 3-4 more weeks.
As described on pg 154 of Wild Fermentation 🙂 ♥

trying to use as many of these berries as possible, this bush is like the magical raspberry bush, it’s a big producer!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.:July 16, 2012:.

**Update**

I let these jars sit for a week, till the liquid darkened and all the color from the fruit was extracted into the liquid. This morning I strained out the fruit and poured all the liquid into my Earthen Jug to finish becoming vinegar. 4-6 weeks 🙂 yay!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.:August 16, 2012:.

**Update**

Well it’s been a month to the day, so I pulled out my homemade hanky cork and smelled my experiment, SUCCESS! I made vinegar! WHOOP! Eeeer, well the microbes really did it, and I LOVE THEM FOR IT! Thank you awesome microbes!

Here is the final product, I poured it out of my earthen jug and into an old apple cider vinegar bottle (love repurposing)- this cloudy red goodness tastes and smells amazing! I’m so happy!

home brewed

I’m so proud of this experiment! I feel so empowered to know that I can make my own super healthy vinegar from berries off our own bushes! So happy!

One thought on “Real Raspberry Vinegar :) YUM

Leave a Reply

